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Media Math

madiamath
ROI- Return on Investment
 
Methods to help with calculation:
As a percentage:
 
If your return is $1million in 12 months on a total investment of $250,000 in the same time period, the ROI can be calculated as follows:


ROI = (Return - investment) / (Investment) x 100
or

ROI = (1,000,000 - 250,000) / (250,000) x 100 = 300%

 

As a Ratio:


Divide the return by investment:

ROI = 1,000,000 / 250,000 = 4:1

 

Break-Even Time

If you are trying to determine the break-even ROI, you want to find out how long it takes to make back your investment. You can calculate it in days, weeks, or months. For break-even ROI follow this formula:

 

ROI = (investment) / (Return) x (Time period)
or

ROI = (250,000) / (1,000,000) x 12 months = 3 month
 

More complicated versions of ROI usually involve adding elements to the return. For example, when figuring ROI on a marketing campaign, a company might value new customers higher than existing customers, on the assumption that new customers will be buy again in the future. Therefore, the new customer purchases may be be multiplied by a certain factor to reflect future returns on the investment. 

 

TV Calculations

Rating (%) = 

AA Projection(000) / Universe Estimate (000)

HUT (%) = 

#HH with TV sets on (000) / Total HH Universe (000) Average Hours / Duration of the Period Rating (%) / Share (%)

PUT (%) =  

# Persons with TV sets on (000) / Total Persons Universe (000)

Share (%) =

Rating (%) / Usage (%)

VPVH = 

Persons Projection (000) / Household Projection (000)

CPM = 

Media Cost / Gross Impresions (000)

Average Unit Cost / AA (000)

CPP = 

Average Unit Cost / Rating (%) Total Schedule Cost / GRP's (%)

Rating (%)= 

AA Projection(000) / Universe Estimate (000) GRP's (%) / # Spots HUT (%) x Share (%)

AA (000)= 

Rating (%) x Universe Estimate (000) VPVH x HHAA (000) Impressions (000) / # Spots

Share (%) =

Rating (%) / HUT (%)

GRP's (%) =

Impressions (000) / Universe Estimate (000) Rating (%) x # Spots Reach (%) x Frequency

Reach (%) =

GRP's (%) / Frequency

Frequency =

GRP's (%) / Reach (%)

Impressions =(000)

GRP's (%) x Universe Estimate (000) AAA (000) x # Spots Cost / CPM